OCR Level 1 and 2 Cambridge National Certificate in Health and Social Care

Course structure

You will be working in several different ways including group discussions, role play, personal research, group work, presentations, independent work and visiting speakers.

The course includes 2 required and 2 optional units.

Required units

Both of these units are exam assessed.

R021: Essential values of care for use with individuals in care settings

Learning outcomes include understanding how:

  • to support individuals to maintain their rights

  • important the values of care and how they are applied are

  • legislation affects care settings

  • personal hygiene, safety and security measures protect individual

R022: Communicating and working with individuals in health, social care and early years settings

Learning outcomes include:

  • understanding how to communicate effectively

  • understanding the personal qualities that contribute to effective care

  • being able to communicate effectively within health, social care and early years settings

Optional units

Both of these units are coursework. They are:

  • R025: Understanding life stages

  • R023: Understanding body systems and disorders


How the course is assessed


R021 is an exam unit with a written paper for 1 hour and 30 minutes. This is worth 40% of the final grade.

R022, R023 and RO25 are internally assessed unit and moderated by OCR. These are worth 60% of the final grade.

Progression and career opportunities

Further qualifications include A levels, apprenticeships and further advanced vocational qualifications at level 3, like Cambridge technical qualifications.


There are many career opportunities include working in various health and social care settings that include careers in:

  • nursing

  • social work

  • caring for older people

  • nursery managers

  • teachers

  • paramedics

  • health care assistants